Canberra Indian Myna Action Group

About Us

The Canberra Indian Myna Action Group Inc (CIMAG) is a community group formed in April 2006 to reduce the impact of this exotic invader.

Our Aim

CIMAG has the aim of protecting our native birds and other wildlife from the threat posed by the Indian Myna (or Common Myna) (Acridotheres Tristis), to reduce the loss of public amenity that they cause, and to minimise possible human health risks.

How We Work

The Group operates as a non-profit association of like-minded individuals who are interested in working, individually or collectively, in implementing an agreed Strategy to tackle the Indian Myna problem in Canberra and the surrounding region. The Group shares information via a Facebook Group and the periodic Myna Matters Bulletin. Its managing Committee works in cooperation with the ACT Government, our local animal welfare organisation, surrounding local councils, and environmental and conservation groups.

Our Strategy

We have three elements in our Strategy (download the full Strategy pdf):

  1. increased public awareness that this bird is a serious environmental and health threat, not just a nuisance
  2. public education aimed at limiting the spread of the species by reducing its feeding and breeding opportunities, and
  3. a humane reduction program.

The Group recognizes that its endeavours are unlikely to eliminate Indian Mynas from the Canberra environment. However, with a concerted, coordinated and sustained effort, we believe a significant impact can be made on the Indian Myna population in the region, thereby helping to protect our native birds and small mammals.

To find out more about what we are doing and about the Canberra Indian Myna Action Group Inc contact Bill Handke (0438 292 003 or by email

To join the Canberra Indian Myna Action Group Inc and to participate in its activities, fill out the application form.

Further information on Indian (Common) Mynas is available from:


Bill Handke
Ray Barge
Dan Buchler
Jeff Cartwright
Ross Dalton
Greg Flowers
Jim Kennedy


Vice President
Committee member
Committee member
Committee member
Committee member